Skip to main content

Glinsk Waltzes to 21st Anniversary – July 2009

The 21st Anniversary Glinsk Old-Time Waltzing competition for the Mary Tiernan trophy was held in the Glencastle Lounge on Sunday night last.  A large attendance enjoyed a great night’s competition to the music of Dene Lane and Gracelands.  Glinsk Ladies Club have been successfully organising this competition since the untimely death of Mary Tiernan and so it was fitting that Husband Johnny Tiernan was in attendance this year as he celebrated his 90th birthday with family and friends.

Adjudicators on the night were Mary Kelly(Kilkenny) and 2008 winners Olive and David Clarke(Tipperary)

The “Mary Tiernan Open” Old-time Waltz competition was won by Mary Small and Chris Beirne, Second place went to Ronan Kelly and Elizabeth Fallon, Third was Joe and Evelyn Kelly with Fourth going to Joe and Helena Fallon.

The “Mick McGann”(Confined) was won by Mary Small and Chris Beirne, Second was Joe and Helena Fallon, Third went to Joe and Evelyn Kelly with Fourth prize going to Marty and Margaret Farragher.

In the “Ladies Waltz” the winners were Mary Small and Evelyn Kelly, Second was Ann Kelly and Elizabeth Fallon and Third was Mary Gaffney and Melissa Newman.

The “Buck’s Waltz” went to Ronan Kelly and Marty Farragher, second was Joe Fallon and Chris Beirne and among the prize-winners were Michael Quinn and Liam Mannion.